AccueilAccueil  S'enregistrerS'enregistrer  Connexion  

Partagez | 
 

 L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu

Voir le sujet précédent Voir le sujet suivant Aller en bas 
Aller à la page : Précédent  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Suivant
AuteurMessage
Busforever
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 3875
Age : 36
Localisation : Montréal
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 20 Avr - 15:10

Krycek a écrit:
superbowl41 a écrit:
Krycek a écrit:
superbowl41 a écrit:
j'ai une question
si un punt de dégagement passe entre les poteaux
les 3pt sont ils accordé?? (a madden il ne les accorde pas)

Non, c'est considéré comme un Touchback, et donc l'équipe adverse reprend sur ses 20yds, moi à Madden, je m'amusais à essayer de passer directement le kickoff entre les poteaux, ca rapporte rien, mais quand on voit, qu'ils arrivent à mettre l'équivalent d'un FG de 87yds

perso j'y suis arriver qu'une seul fois c'était avec janikowski (sa doit pas s'écrire comme ca)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRePfIu-avI
la je c pas comment il fait


sinon j'avais entendu dire que les patriots ont fait un coup de pied de transformation en drop alors pourquoi un put qui passe entre les poteaux ne peut pas etre concideré comme un drop

Parce que déjà, un Drop doit toucher le sol avant d'être frappé, alors que le Punt ne le touche pas, ensuite, Flutie qui avait transformé le drop était dans une formation de transformation, or je sais pas si on a le droit de tenter un Drop si on est pas dans une certaine formation ?

J'ai la flemme de chercher dans les règles, mais je suis à peu près sûr que la formation n'a rien à voir là-dedans. En gros, la règle dit "7 joueurs sur la ligne". Les formations, l'aspect tactique, c'est une conséquence des possibilités offertes par les règles. Il y a de la tactique au foot américain parce que c'est le meilleur moyen de gagner, mais rien ne t'oblige à être organisé après tout.
Donc, à partir du moment où ton équipe a un alignement "légal" (7 mecs sur la ligne, peu importe comment) et que le ballon touche le sol, c'est bon je pense. Seulement, bon courage pour improviser un FG sans mettre une tactique en place spécialement pour ça.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
http://baptistejoue.wordpress.com/
Torry Holt
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 953
Localisation : Bordeaux
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 20 Avr - 16:24

GoldRush-BlackStripes a écrit:
J'ai une question un peu technique : comment est retransmise au niveau statistique une interception d'une transformation à deux points après un TD ? La relance est-elle possible ?

La relance est possible dans ce cas la défense marque 2 points si elle va au bout.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
http://devilscenon.free.fr
superbowl41
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 620
Age : 28
Localisation : rouen
Date d'inscription : 05/01/2007

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 20 Avr - 16:50

Torry Holt a écrit:
GoldRush-BlackStripes a écrit:
J'ai une question un peu technique : comment est retransmise au niveau statistique une interception d'une transformation à deux points après un TD ? La relance est-elle possible ?

La relance est possible dans ce cas la défense marque 2 points si elle va au bout.


je peut rien dire vu que je n'est jamais vu ce cas la en match
mais ce qui est sur c'est que sur madden cela fait "no good"
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Torry Holt
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 953
Localisation : Bordeaux
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 20 Avr - 16:53

Je ne sais pas si c'est la cas en NFL mais en université c'est sûr en tout cas.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
http://devilscenon.free.fr
ENTOMBED
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 4281
Age : 43
Localisation : Bordeaux
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 20 Avr - 17:03

Torry Holt a écrit:
Je ne sais pas si c'est la cas en NFL mais en université c'est sûr en tout cas.

Meme avis que Torry (qu'on te donne tous les ballons à toi, dimanche ! Et je flagge la Défense adverse pour Comportement Antisportif dès que les mecs s'approchent)

_________________
Champion BBFL 2008,2009, 2011 et 2014
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
CB-Blitz X--->
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 842
Localisation : H€nd@¥e
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 20 Avr - 18:49

Torry Holt a écrit:
Je ne sais pas si c'est la cas en NFL mais en université c'est sûr en tout cas.

En NCAA c'est le cas c'est vrai. Mais pas en NFL, la relance n'est pas possible et l'action s'arrête à l'interception.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
http://www.ougl.net/annexes/yatta/index.php
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Mer 12 Sep - 13:56

Jerry's back... nan pas Rice, Markbreit.

Citation :
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The former NFL referee answers reader questions each week on ChicagoSports.com

September 11, 2007, 4:46 PM CDT


I have two questions about Sunday's Bears/Chargers game. On the play in which Mike Brown was injured, he was horse-collared by an illegal hold, most likely contributing to his injury. Which official should have been responsible for making that call, and are officials' calls reviewed after each game? And, when the Bears recovered a fumble inside their own five-yard line, it appeared that a Bear was in the neutral zone prior to the snap. One of the Charger players was shown pointing at the Jumbotron telling the official to look. What would happen if an official looked at the screen and used this to influence his decision? Welcome back, your section is the best. -- Rob S, Matteson

The definition of a horse-collar foul is grabbing the inside collar of the back of the shoulder pads or jersey, or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pads or jersey, and immediately pulling down the runner. This does not apply to a runner who is in the tackle box or a quarterback who is in the pocket. Mike Brown was not a runner, and, apparently, the action by the opposing team was not deemed illegal during the play in question. Each official has a zone on the field, and in this case, any official who saw the action could have made the call. The answer to your second question is that the wing officials did not feel that a defensive offside had occurred, and the officials are prohibited from looking at the Jumbotron to make a call. Thank you. It is good to be back. I appreciate your comment.

The San Diego kicker in the recent Bears-Chargers game felt that his punt hit an overhead wire. Is that considered part of the field or should the play have been re-run? -- Todd Freeman, Belmont, Cal.

There is a "gondola rule" in the NFL. Any time a ball hits a wire stretched across the playing field for any purpose, or hits the gondola generally housing the sound system in indoor stadiums, the down is replayed, unless there is a penalty. The penalty is then enforced as usual. The "gondola rule" got its name when Hall of Fame punter Ray Guy of the Oakland Raiders punted the ball in the New Orleans Superdome and the ball hit the gondola on the ceiling of the dome.

Jerry, is the league going to go with having the umpire in the offensive backfield, and what are the different mechanics that have to be adjusted for this move? -- Ron, Joplin, Mo.

The NFL experimented with the umpire moving into the offensive backfield during weeks two and four of the preseason. The purpose was to find out if the umpire could work from a different position without being in the middle of the action behind the defensive team. The mechanics of this position change are quite different, and everything will be analyzed and a decision made in the future, certainly after the season is over. For the 2007 season, the umpire will be in his traditional spot behind the defensive line.

Jerry, if a QB spikes the football to stop the clock, but does this behind him, does it become a backward pass? -- Petersen, Berkeley, Cal.

The quarterback must spike the ball in front of him in an attempt to stop the clock. He is even given the leeway of putting the ball down at his side. If he spikes the ball clearly behind his position, it is in fact a backward pass and the ball continues in play with either team being able to recover or advance.

I am a big fan of your column, great to see it back for another season. Question about the end of the Cardinals-49ers game. The fumble into the end zone. If the Cardinal player would have knocked it out of the end zone, would it have been Cardinal ball at the 20 or is some other rule involved there? -- Chris Trella, Chandler, Ariz.

Thank you for your comments; it is great to be back for another season. The play in question is covered under the two-minute fumble rule. If a team fumbles the ball inside of two minutes remaining in either half, only the fumbling player may recover the ball in advance of the spot of the fumble. If a teammate recovers, as he did in the Monday night game, the ball is returned to the spot of the fumble and awarded to the fumbling team. If the Cardinal player had batted the ball out of the end zone, an illegal batting foul would have been called and the enforcement would have resulted in a safety, or a half-the-distance-to-the-goal-penalty-from-the-previous-line-of-scrimmage. A touchback could not have resulted from the action of this play. It was perfectly officiated.

Jerry, glad to have you back for another season. Thank you for sharing your insight so the more casual observer like myself can glean a better understanding of the game. During this weekend's games, I noticed the QBs with a neon green sticker affixed to the back of their helmets. What does this signify? -- Stephen, Michigan City, Ind.

You are obviously very observant with regards to the neon green sticker fixed to the back of the quarterback's helmets. This indicates that the quarterback is the only player on the field with a coach-to-quarterback communication system. This allows the coach to call the play without the quarterback or any player of the offensive team having to go to the sideline. Only one player may be on the field having this communication system. This sticker helps the officials to enforce a very strict rule of the game. It is my pleasure to be back again, sharing what I know about pro football with all of the great football fans around the country and overseas. Thank you.

Please explain the logic behind the "Ineligible receiver downfield" penalty. What is the reasoning? What advantage would it give an offense otherwise? Thanks. -- Steve L., Lake Forest

Offensive players may not block downfield prior to any forward pass. If they do, offensive pass interference is called. The rule keeps the offensive linemen out of harm's way by prohibiting them from moving downfield prior to the pass being thrown. When the offensive linemen move downfield, it indicates that a running play is being executed. When the linemen are restricted by the rule, it indicates to the defense that a pass play is imminent. The wisdom of the professional football rules has made it one of the most popular games.

I was watching the Packers/Eagles game. McNabb was called for an intentional grounding on a flea flicker. Why was this? I thought the pocket would cease to exist with the first handoff. Thanks for your help explaining this. -- Ryan, Lindenhurst

The pocket ceases to exist when the ball is handed off on a running play or pitched out by the quarterback. Under these circumstances, illegal contact will not be called. On the play in question, the quarterback still remains in the pocket because the ball never left the pocket. Intentional grounding was called because the passer did not meet the qualifications of a legal forward pass. Intentional grounding is when a passer facing an imminent loss of yardage because of pressure from the defense throws a forward pass without a realistic chance of completion while in the pocket.

Jerry, can a QB cross the line of scrimmage on a run and then cross back and throw a pass as long as he is behind the initial line of scrimmage? Thanks. -- Dan Shaw, Rosemount, Minn.

The offensive team may make one forward pass from behind the line during each play from scrimmage, provided the ball does not cross the line and return behind the line prior to the pass. The penalty is the loss of five yards from the previous line of scrimmage and the down is replayed. This situation could occur when the quarterback scrambles beyond the line and then decides to retreat behind the line before throwing the pass.

Many times we see a flag thrown for defensive pass interference, which is later "picked up" because the ball was not catchable. Why isn't a penalty then called for illegal contact, with the defender contacting a receiver more than five yards downfield? -- Richard, Barstow, Cal.

An illegal contact foul is one that occurs prior to the ball being thrown. This foul occurs five or more yards beyond the line of scrimmage. The contact that resulted in a defensive pass interference flag is either a foul or nothing, depending on whether the pass was catchable.
A propos du match des 49ers, j'avais donc tort en pensant que le DB des Cardinals aurait pu/dû envoyer le ballon hors de l'en-but, délibérément, en tout cas.

_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Julius_Holmes#31
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 845
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Mer 12 Sep - 14:05

J'ai vu la vidéo du fumble, et en tant que défenseur moi même, lorsque je vois une balle à terre, je pense uniquement à la recouvrir, où qu'elle soit. (comme tout attaquant également).
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Jeu 20 Sep - 15:09

Citation :
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The fomer NFL referee answers reader questions each week during the season

September 18, 2007, 5:30 PM CDT

Jerry, thanks for answering our questions, I enjoy reading this each week. In Sunday's Bears game, Devin Hester caught a kickoff with one foot out of bounds, and the ball was placed at the 40. I don't remember seeing this before, and was wondering if it was an "Illegal Procedure" if the receiver touched the ball with any part of his body out of bounds on a kick-off. --Skeeter, Normal, Ill.

A player is out of bounds when he runs out of bounds or, while the ball is in his possession, he touches a boundary line or anything other than a player or an official on or offside any such boundary line. When Devin Hester caught the kickoff with one foot out of bounds, it became a free kick out of bounds. The penalty for this infraction is awarding the ball to the receiving team 30 yards in advance of the spot of the kick. It is not illegal procedure, but is called free kick out of bounds, and carries no yardage penalty. Had he caught the ball with both feet inbounds and then went out, it would have been Chicago's ball at that spot.

Late in the Cleveland-Cincinnati game, Cincinnati was out of timeouts, and Cleveland had one left. Cleveland led the game 51-45, and were on defense. Because of an injury to one of the Browns players, Cleveland was forced to take their last timeout. Would they have been penalized if they did not have a timeout left, and if so, what would the penalty be? I understand that the team that is trailing would lose 10 seconds off the clock if they had an injury stoppage, but what about the team in the lead? Thanks! --Paul Junio, Oconomwoc, Wis.

If the defensive team is out of timeouts in the last two minutes of either half and an injury occurs, it is an official's timeout and they need not take a charged timeout. There is not 10-second runoff against the defense under NFL rules. Cleveland chose to call a timeout, but it was not to avoid a penalty. When an excess timeout is awarded for an injury, and it is the fourth timeout of the half, the clock is stopped, the injured man is removed and the clock starts on the ready-for-play signal.

The horse-collar rule seems to be highly controversial and misunderstood. What really distinguishes an actual horse-collar infraction from a legal tackle that is made by grabbing a player's collar? Is it only a penalty when the defender pulls the player into the ground in a quick motion? --Brian Anderson, San Francisco

A horse-collar foul is when a player grabs the inside collar of the back of the shoulder pads or jersey or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pad or jersey and immediately pulls the runner down or close to the ground. This rule does not apply to a runner who is in the tackle box (between the tackles) or to a quarterback who is in the pocket (between the tackles).

During the Cardinals-Seahawks game this weekend, the referee called a five-yard face mask penalty. First, they said it would be fourth down because the five yards added to the end of the run was still short. The original play was on third down. The Cardinals and Seahawks sent in the Punt teams. Then the referee changed the call to the yardage was allowed, plus five yards, plus repeat third down. My question is are they supposed to repeat the down? Was this end result correct? --Robert Bond, Chandler, Ariz.

There are two kinds of face-mask fouls. One is a personal foul, carrying a 15-yard penalty and an automatic first down. The second is an incidental face mask foul that carries a five-yard penalty and the down is replayed. In your play, the five-yard penalty for the incidental face mask was tacked on to the end of the run but did not produce a first down; so the referee quickly corrected himself, announcing that it was still third down.

Please explain the difference between 30- and 60-second timeouts in an NFL game. Thanks. --Joe, Verona, Wis.

There are no 60-second timeouts under NFL rules. When a team takes a charged timeout, television has the opportunity to insert a commercial, the duration of which is two minutes. If a team takes a timeout and no commercial is taken by the network, it becomes a 30-second timeout. The referee will announce to the crowd that the timeout will be 30 seconds in length when it applies.

Dear Jerry, I noticed that a few players on each team have a "C" patch on their uniform, such as Brian Urlacher. My guess is that the "C" indicates a team captain, but what are their duties? I really enjoy your column and the insights into the game of football that you provide. --Brian Marszalek, Hammond, Ind.

The "C" patches indicates a team captain. The duties of the captains are to make penalty enforcement decisions. However, when a complicated decision is required, the coach is generally asked to make the decision. One of the duties of the referee is to make sure that a player does not make a mistake on penalty enforcement.

Hi Jerry! Can a team go for an onside kick after a safety? Lots and lots of users of an Italian message board are scratching their heads about it. Thank you for your attention. Greets from Italy. Roberto Petillo, Napoli, Italy

You have presented my first question from the famous city of Napoli, Italy. Thank you. When a safety is scored, the team scored upon must next put the ball in play by a free kick (punt, drop kick or place kick.). No tee may be used for the safety kick. The free kick line for the receiving team is 10 yards from the kicking team's free kick line, which is generally the 20-yard line. All rules of free kicks apply, including an onside kick. Most safety kicks are punted to get greater distance; but once in a while, an onside kick is attempted by the punter; in fact, I have seen several during my officiating days in the NFL.

In the Packers-Giants game, the Packers were offside but the Giants got a first down on the play. After the whistle blew, the Giants' receiver spiked the ball and was flagged for delay of game. The officials offset the penalties, nullifying the play, but the commentators said they thought the first down should have stood because the offense's penalty occurred after the whistle. Who was correct? --David Englund, Belvidere, Ill.

The commentators on the play you describe did not understand the offsetting foul rule as it pertains to spiking the ball. The offside penalty at the snap, combined with the illegal spiking of the ball by the offensive player, results in an offset, even though the spiking occurs after the play was over.

In the Chiefs-Bears game, there was a play where the runner was hit and knocked off-balance. He stumbled just a bit, but regained his balance and then ran another yard or so. He then fell down and fumbled. Normally the ground can't cause a fumble, but are there any guidelines to a situation where the player doesn't go down on first contact, clearly is running under control, but a few yards later hits the ground for some other reason and fumbles? Thanks! --Hank Jones, Joliet, Ill.

When the runner is contacted by a defensive player and he subsequently goes to the ground without regaining his balance, he is ruled down by contact. In your play, the runner regained his balance, ran another yard or so and fell down and fumbled. This is the one time when a fumbled ball caused by the ground is considered a fumble because the ball carrier was not down by contact.

_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Mer 10 Oct - 15:57

Citation :
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The fomer NFL referee answers reader questions each week during the season

September 27, 2007, 11:22 AM CDT


If you have a incidental facemask call on first down, do you enforce the penalty from the end of the run and is it still first down or is it second down? --Dave, Sioux Falls, S.D.

An incidental facemask foul is five yards from the previous line of scrimmage on a pass play or five yards from the end of the run on a running play. This foul does not automatically give the team that was fouled a first down. If, after enforcement, the line to gain has been reached, then it is first down. If the five-yard penalty does not reach the line to gain, the down remains the same as it was at the snap. An example would be: second down and seven yards to go for a first down; the runner makes one yard and an incidental face mask foul is called. After the five-yard penalty is assessed, it will be second down and one yard to go for a first down.

In last week's Denver Broncos-Raider game, Coach Mike Shanahan called a last-second timeout to ice the winning field goal. Did Shanahan tell the side judge ahead of time to make that timeout just before the snap of the ball? Is that legal? --Tim Beuchler, Battle Creek, Mich.

It is against the rules for a coach or player to give instructions to on-field officials regarding when to call a timeout for their team. The request for a timeout must be immediate. Teams have been calling timeouts to ice the kicker on field goals for as long as I can remember. As long as the request comes before the ball is snapped and the team that calls the timeout has timeouts remaining, the request is honored. A perfectly legal move.

Jerry, during the Bears-Cowboys game, I noticed during a play that Robbie Gould was standing just over the boundary line in the field. Could this be considered a violation of the too many players on the field rule, and if so, could Wade Phillips have challenged this? Thanks and I really enjoy your column! -- Jamie Killian, Batavia, Ill.

I am not sure that I understand the situation that you describe, but if he was in the game and standing on a boundary line or end line before the snap, the play would be perfectly legal providing that he steps into the field of play and gets both feet down to the ground before the ball is snapped. If he was standing just over the sideline, he would not be considered a twelfth man on the field, and would be told to step back by the nearest on-field official. Twelve men on the field is reviewable under replay rules. But the play that you describe, in my opinion, is not reviewable.

Jerry, thanks for your column, which I enjoy reading every week. There's certainly very many people over here looking forward to October 28th! I'd like to ask you a question about the "one untimed down" rule. I understand that a penalty committed by the defense on the last play of either half should require the extension of that half by one untimed down; however, logically, when the offense commits a penalty on a fourth down that is the last play of a half (as happened in this week's Bears-Cowboys game), should it not be considered that possession should revert to the other team for one untimed down also? --James Farrar, London, England

Last week, I got a question from Italy and now you send me a question from England!! I guess the interest in professional football is worldwide. I am very glad that you enjoy the column.

You are correct regarding a foul on the last play of the half or the game, giving the offensive team the option of an untimed down. Under NFL rules, a foul by the offensive team on the last play of the half or game, regardless of the down, ends the half or the game. The game has to end somewhere and the rules-makers in their wisdom decided that this was a good time to end the half or the game.

In the Cowboys-Bears game on Sunday, the Bears ran a fake field goal where the holder tossed the ball up to the kicker who then threw a pass. In that situation, could roughing the passer be called if he were hit after the throw? Thank you! --Brian, Nashville, Tenn.

When the holder of the fake field goal becomes the passer, he is given the same protection that a quarterback would get, once he leaves the pocket to throw the pass. The two-step rule that prohibits the defensive players from hitting the quarterback after he releases the pass goes away once the passer leaves the pocket. The same would be true for the holder who becomes a passer. Any unnecessary roughness such as helmet-to-helmet contact or spearing would always be enforced. A simpler answer to your question is, "Yes."

Does the clock run during an extra point attempt in the NFL? -- Roger, Lewisburg, Ohio

Once a touchdown is scored, the clock is stopped and is not started until the ball is legally touched in the field of play during the ensuing kickoff. The try-for-point or extra point is an untimed down under all rules of football, including everything from Pop Warner to the NFL.

In the closing minutes of the Cardinals-Ravens game, Adrian Wilson was called for a personal foul when he delivered a hard hit to Ravens tight end Todd Heap. In explaining the foul, the referee made mention of Heap being a "defenseless receiver". Can you explain this "defenseless receiver" rule? -- Matt, Freehold, N.J.

All players in virtually defenseless postures are protected from unnecessary hits by the defense, which include helmet-to-helmet contact, helmet-to-body contact, and blows to the head. Intended receivers of forward passes who fail to catch the pass are considered to be in a defenseless position immediately after the pass is missed. If the pass is caught, all of these restrictions are off, unless in the opinion of the covering official, something unsportsmanlike occurs. In your play, the pass was missed by the tight end and he was unnecessarily hit by the defender. The announcement by the referee was excellent. The microphone is used to explain situations so that the public can understand what happened and why.

If a receiver catches the ball, is upended by the defender and the receiver's ball-carrying arm touches the ground first, is he down? Or must he continue to maintain possession until his knee/leg/foot is down? This as it refers to what transpired in the 3rd quarter of the 49ers @ Steelers game this week? --David Ryder, Chico, Calif.

In order to complete a catch, a receiver must come down with both feet inbounds or any other part of his body except his hands or feet and be in complete possession of the ball. In your play, the receiver has not completed the catch and when he hits the ground the ball pops out. This is an incomplete pass. If a runner in possession of the ball is upended and comes down with any part of his body other than a hand or foot, he is considered down by contact if the ball comes out after the contact with the ground.

I was the clock operator at a recent middle school football game. The referee at the game came over and told me to only stop the clock on his signal. I was under the impression that the clock could be stopped by the signal of any of the officials. Should the clock operator respond to any of the officials' signals to stop and start the clock? -- Rickey, Unionville, Tenn.

As far as I am concerned, you are correct. The signals to stop and start the clock should be able to come from each on-field official. The referee in most cases is not in position to see anything occurring downfield that might stop the clock. Unless this is a special rule instituted by the middle school football league, I would strongly recommend you continue to do what you feel is correct.

How does one become a K-ball ball boy? Is this a paid position? Are they hired by the league or the teams? Are they members of the officiating crew? Are there any qualifications? -- Jon Ries, Oakland, Calif.

In order to find out the necessary information regarding K-ball positions in the NFL, I would suggest writing to the team in your area. I would direct your letter to the personnel department and tell them that you are interested in the position. I can tell you that they are not part of the officiating crew and they are paid for their services. Good luck.

_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Mer 10 Oct - 15:58

Citation :
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The fomer NFL referee answers reader questions each week during the season

October 3, 2007


In Sunday's Bears-Lions game, a Lions receiver apparently did not step on the goal line or into the end zone. He did kick the orange goal line marker. Since he was carrying the ball in his right hand, and the ball never crossed the goal line inbounds, was this correctly called a touchdown? - Mike, Melrose Park

When a runner in possession of the football kicks the orange goal line pylon before hitting a sideline, he is ruled out-of-bounds in the end zone and, consequently, he is awarded a touchdown by rule. If a player dives for the pylon from the field of play and his body passes over the pylon, the ball must be over or inside the pylon for a score to be awarded. These two situations are different. The first example scores a touchdown, even though the ball is physically out-of-bounds in the right hand of the runner. The second example makes it necessary for the ball to pass over or be inside of the pylon to score. The play in the game that you describe was correctly ruled a touchdown.

Hi Jerry, I have a question from the Bears-Lions game this past weekend. There was an interesting ruling. After a booth review, Griese was ruled to have fumbled the ball forward, it then was caught by an OL (Garza), then he fumbled it as he tried to get to the goal line. The ball was recovered by Detroit in the end zone. It was ruled Chicago's ball because under 2 minutes it is against the rules to advance a ball that is fumbled forward, so from what I understand it almost seemed like the play was dead at that point. I understand the rule for fumbling forward, but it seems to me almost that it benefits the offense here because Chicago was able to keep the ball, when really we should be penalizing the offense. It's similar to the case where if the kicking team touches the ball on a punt, and the receiving team picks up the ball, it is almost a free play, as the worst that can happen is they get the ball at the original spot, even if they fumble. I think in this case it makes sense. But for the rule in the Lions game, I don't see how this is a penalty to the offense. Can you clarify, and do you agree with the ruling? Also what about a case where an offensive player fumbles forward and it is recovered by a defensive player right away, that should be the defense's ball right? If so, how is this different, in the spirit of the rule? -- Mike Schuman, Kenosha, Wis.

The penalty flag was originally thrown in this play for a forward pass being caught by an ineligible receiver. This foul carries a five-yard penalty from the previous line of scrimmage. The play was correctly allowed to continue and the ineligible receiver who caught the pass then fumbled the ball into the end zone, where Detroit recovered for what appeared to be a touchback. This play occurred during the last two minutes and was challenged by the replay official. After reviewing the play, it was determined that a fumble and not a pass had occurred by the quarterback. The two-minute fumble rule states that any fumble during this time period can only be recovered by the fumbling player, which in this case was the quarterback. When a teammate recovers the ball in advance of the fumble, it becomes dead by rule. The ball is then given back to the offensive team at the spot of the fumble. This was all done correctly and the penalty flag for illegal touching of a forward pass was picked up. This play was handled correctly by the officials. This was a very complicated play, and I can understand why many people did not completely understand what had happened.

Jerry, I love your column - keep up the great work. Last night in the Giants-Eagles game, the Eagle player made contact with the Giant punter, knocking him down. There was no flag thrown and the referee told the fans on the stadium microphone that there was no call because the punter had both feet down. What is the rule on running into the kicker and roughing the kicker? How about when players are pushed into the kicker? -- Richard Reif, North Caldwell, N.J.

When a punter has sufficient time to return to the ground with both feet, he then becomes a potential blocker or tackler and is not protected by the running-into-the-kicker rule. When running into the kicker is called, the kicking foot has not returned to the ground or the kicker is simultaneously hit as the foot hits the ground. In the play that you describe, the referee determined that the punter had sufficiently returned both feet to the ground and consequently made the announcement as to why no penalty was called. I am glad that you love the column; I do, too!!

Late in a game, with no timeouts, a receiver catches the ball, gets a few yards upfield, but realizes he can't get out of bounds before being tackled. Can he purposefully fumble the ball out of bounds to stop the clock? Thanks! -- Hank Jones, Joliet

A team is not permitted to conserve time inside of one minute of either half by throwing a backward pass out-of-bounds or by throwing an illegal forward pass in order to stop the clock. For illegally conserving time, the penalty is loss of five yards and a ten-second runoff of the clock will be administered by the referee under certain circumstances. In short, the answer to your question is, "No."

Twice this year, I have seen a punt returner wave an arm and give a reasonable signal for a fair catch, only to catch the ball and advance it. Isn't this a penalty? -- David, Houston

If a receiver signals for a fair catch during any kick except one that does not cross the line of scrimmage, the ball is dead when caught by any member of the receiving team. The exception to this occurs when, after a fair catch, the ball hits the ground before touching the signaler. All rules of fair catch are off, and the receiving team may advance the kick. The legal signal for a fair catch is when a player fully extends an arm above his helmet and waves it from side-by-side. If any other type of signal is given, it is an invalid signal and carries a five-yard penalty. But in either case, no advance by the receiving team is allowed once the ball is caught. If advance comes after a fair catch signal, a five-yard delay-of-game penalty is given to the receivers.

Can you explain the "horsecollar" tackle and why it isn't allowed in the NFL but is allowed in college, high school and down the line? -- Jimmy Christ, Woodstock

A horse collar tackle is when a player grabs the inside collar of the back of the shoulder pads or jersey or the inside collar of the side of the shoulder pad or jersey and immediately pulls the runner down to or close to the ground. This rule does not apply to the runner who is in the tackle box (between the tackles) or to a quarterback who is in the pocket (between the tackles). This rule is to prevent serious injury and, in my opinion, should be included in college and high school rules.

My understanding of the rules are that if an offensive player in possession of the ball, runs out the back of the end zone they are defending, a safety is called. I saw a game in which a defender intercepted a pass in the end zone that they were defending and stepped out the back of the end zone, and it was ruled a touchback. Why is that different? -- Bill, Hanover Park

First, let me give you the definition of "impetus." This is the action of a player that gives momentum to the ball and sends it over the goal line. The impetus is attributed to the offense, except when the ball is sent into the end zone through a new momentum when the defense muffs a ball which is at rest or nearly at rest or illegally bats the ball. If you are not sufficiently confused by this definition, I will simply state that an intercepted pass in a team's own end zone was put in that end zone by the offensive team's pass. The momentum came from the offense. Consequently, when the interceptor is tackled in the end zone or steps out of the end zone, a touchback is ruled because the force that put the ball in the end zone was the forward pass. If the interceptor had come out into the field of play and then retreated into the end zone, the momentum would belong to him and a safety would be ruled if he was tackled or ran out of the end zone.

In a recent Bears game a defensive player who was on the ground sacked Rex Grossman by reaching out with his leg and tripping him. I thought this was illegal, but no foul was called. Is this type of tackle legal? Does it make a difference whether the tripping was intentional or accidental? -- David Englund, Belvidere

Tripping is the use of the leg or foot in obstructing an opponent, (including a runner) below the knee. This foul carries a ten-yard penalty at the spot of the foul. If a runner trips over a defender's leg, it is not a foul unless in the opinion of the officials, some attempt has been made to overtly trip the runner. Whether tripping is intentional or accidental really makes no difference because it is impossible to determine intent.

Jerry, I am in a ferocious debate about a rare play and what the ruling would be. We are interested in knowing what the call is if a punt returner muffs the ball from outside the end zone and it is recovered by a teammate of the returner in the end zone? Is the correct ruling a touchback or safety? -- Nic, Cleveland

I have explained the definition of "impetus" in answering the question from Bill of Hanover Park. In the situation that you describe, if the punt is at rest in the field of play and a punt returner muffs the ball into the end zone, new impetus has occurred and the ruling would be safety. However, in almost all situations, a muffed punt is not at rest and when it continues into the end zone, the impetus is from the punt and, consequently, a touchback is ruled if the ball is recovered by the receivers.

Is there a rule in the NFL rule book specifically preventing a player on the defensive side of the ball from positioning himself under the uprights during a field goal and blocking the kick from crossing the uprights, a la a blocked shot in basketball? -- Kevin, Chicago

This action that you describe is called, "goal-tending" and is covered under NFL rules with the following statement: Goal tending by a defensive player leaping up to deflect a kick as it passes above the cross bar of a goal post is prohibited. The referee could award three points for a palpably unfair act or, at the choice of the offensive team, a fifteen-yard penalty from the previous line of scrimmage.

_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
xerios
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 3955
Age : 30
Localisation : Pullman
Date d'inscription : 29/04/2006

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 12 Oct - 0:08

Bon j'ai besoin qu'on m'aide a comprendre un point d'arbitrage.

Je suis devant le match FSU-Wake forest

Donc ce qu'il se passe c'est qu'il y a punt sur 4eme et 7 ou 8 yards, je ne suis plus sur.

Bref, a partir de la, punt, Illegal block pour l'equipe qui recoit. L'arbitre signale la penalité et dix yards de penalité qui conduisent à un first Down kicking teams.
A noter que l'illegal block a lieu avant que le ballon soit touché par un quelonque joueur.

Dans ce cas la j'etais convaincu que la penalité etait appliqué apres le jeu à l'equipe qui recoit la balle. Mais que la possession ne pouvait pas tourner.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 12 Oct - 8:00

xerios a écrit:
Bon j'ai besoin qu'on m'aide a comprendre un point d'arbitrage.

Je suis devant le match FSU-Wake forest

Donc ce qu'il se passe c'est qu'il y a punt sur 4eme et 7 ou 8 yards, je ne suis plus sur.

Bref, a partir de la, punt, Illegal block pour l'equipe qui recoit. L'arbitre signale la penalité et dix yards de penalité qui conduisent à un first Down kicking teams.
A noter que l'illegal block a lieu avant que le ballon soit touché par un quelonque joueur.

Dans ce cas la j'etais convaincu que la penalité etait appliqué apres le jeu à l'equipe qui recoit la balle. Mais que la possession ne pouvait pas tourner.
Juste à lire ton post, j'aurais cru moi aussi. Après faut voir ce que le gars sanctionné a fait. Ca paraît cher payé...

_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Busforever
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 3875
Age : 36
Localisation : Montréal
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 12 Oct - 9:36

Double C a écrit:
xerios a écrit:
Bon j'ai besoin qu'on m'aide a comprendre un point d'arbitrage.

Je suis devant le match FSU-Wake forest

Donc ce qu'il se passe c'est qu'il y a punt sur 4eme et 7 ou 8 yards, je ne suis plus sur.

Bref, a partir de la, punt, Illegal block pour l'equipe qui recoit. L'arbitre signale la penalité et dix yards de penalité qui conduisent à un first Down kicking teams.
A noter que l'illegal block a lieu avant que le ballon soit touché par un quelonque joueur.

Dans ce cas la j'etais convaincu que la penalité etait appliqué apres le jeu à l'equipe qui recoit la balle. Mais que la possession ne pouvait pas tourner.
Juste à lire ton post, j'aurais cru moi aussi. Après faut voir ce que le gars sanctionné a fait. Ca paraît cher payé...

J'ai pas vu l'action. Mais si l'illegal block a eu lieu avant le punt (entre le snap et le coup de pied quoi), c'est first down. Ca a l'air bizarre, mais des fois les arbitres disent "defensive holding" ou "illegal block" indifféremment pour sanctionner un défenseur qui ceinture un attaquant sans ballon. C'est peut-être ça...
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
http://baptistejoue.wordpress.com/
xerios
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 3955
Age : 30
Localisation : Pullman
Date d'inscription : 29/04/2006

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 12 Oct - 16:24

Citation :
J'ai pas vu l'action. Mais si l'illegal block a eu lieu avant le punt (entre le snap et le coup de pied quoi), c'est first down.

Non justement, le block illegal a lieu juste avant la reception du ballon, à proximité du receveur. Le coup de pied avait donc etait effectué.

Citation :
Après faut voir ce que le gars sanctionné a fait. Ca paraît cher payé...

Pénalité de 10 yards pour le coup, donc rien qui s'apparente à une faute personnelle ou autre qui pourrait amené un automatic first down.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Sam 13 Oct - 9:05

Tu peux toujours envoyer ta question à Markbreit.

_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
xerios
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 3955
Age : 30
Localisation : Pullman
Date d'inscription : 29/04/2006

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Sam 13 Oct - 9:19

Citation :
Tu peux toujours envoyer ta question à Markbreit.

Lol je l'ai fait, je ne sais pas si il y aura une reponse, mais je suis l'affaire, voir si j'apparais dans les semaines qui viennent. Enfin ca me tracasse depuis jeudi cette affaire quand même...

Si ca se trouve tout ca pour me rendre compte que sur le coup les arbitres ont faitune erreur...ca serait decevant, je veux un truc compliqué et une interpretation a tirer par les cheveux
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Chef Osceola
Vétéran


Nombre de messages : 217
Date d'inscription : 09/01/2007

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Dim 14 Oct - 0:13

Je n'ai pas pu voir ce match, alors j' aimerais si cette action litigieuse était contre Florida State
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
xerios
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 3955
Age : 30
Localisation : Pullman
Date d'inscription : 29/04/2006

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Dim 14 Oct - 6:28

Non contre Wake Forest.

Et il y a pas de doute il y a bien un block de le dos.

Enfin il faut aussi savoir qu'avant de legiferer sur la question de la penalité il y a eu un flottement de 10 minutes montre en main des zebres a cause d'un fumble qui n'en était pas vraiment un sur le punt, enfin cette phase de jeu a duré un paquet de temps.

C'est entre autre ca qui m'avait amené à penser à un caffouillage et une petite erreur des zèbres, mais je pense quand même que c'est encore une règle inconnu de presque tout le monde qui a provoqué cette decision.
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Double C
Hall of Fame
avatar

Nombre de messages : 6267
Age : 40
Localisation : Paris
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Mer 24 Oct - 14:11

Citation :
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The fomer NFL referee answers reader questions each week during the season

October 10, 2007, 1:24 PM CDT


Jerry, could you please explain what is and isn't legal when offensive linemen use cut blocks on defensive players? Low blocks seem to be a leading cause of injuries to defensive linemen. Some injuries are inevitable, but having a 300-pounder diving at another player's knees is just asking for injuries. Given all the protections the NFL has written into the rules for quarterbacks and receivers, why haven't they moved to cut back on dangerous interior line play? Thanks for the great column, I look forward to it every week. --Mark Early, Arlington, Va.

The rule regarding low blocks by offensive linemen on defensive players is very clear. The restrictions are as follows: There shall be no clipping from behind below the waist against a non-runner. This does not apply to offensive blocking in close-line play, where it is legal to clip above the knees but illegal to clip at or below the knees. Close-line play is that which occurs in an area extending laterally to the position ordinarily occupied by the offensive tackles and longitudinally three yards on each line of scrimmage. In this close-line play, if an offensive player's block, illegal or legal, is followed by the blocker rolling up on the back of the legs of the defender, this action is illegal and is considered unnecessary roughness. The sole purpose of this rule is to eliminate serious injury in close-line play. I am glad that you enjoy the column.

During the Packer/Bear game on Sunday night, the Packers challenged the placement of the ball which resulted in a change in the placement of the ball. However, the Bears still had the first down. The Packers were then charged a timeout, even though they won the challenge of the placement of the ball. Last night the same situation occurred during the Bills/Cowboy game. However, the Bills didn't lose a timeout. Why did that play out so differently? -- Rhonda Clements, Holmen, Wis.

Under the rules of instant replay, the only forward progress that can be challenged is whether a first down has been made or missed. If, after reviewing the play, it is discovered that the forward progress spot is incorrect but the decision on the field is not changed, the challenge is deemed unsuccessful and the challenger is charged with a timeout. In the Bear/Packer game, even after the ball was moved back because of the replay review, the Bears still had made the necessary line-to-gain for a first down and Green Bay was correctly charged with a timeout. In the Bills/Cowboy game, the situation must have been different if the challenging team was not charged with a timeout.

Jerry, What is the rule about lining up over the center on a field goal attempt? I did not understand that call in the Bears-Packers game. Thanks. -- Dave Farmer, Elk Grove Village, Ill.

During a field goal attempt or an extra point kick, a defensive player who is within one yard of the line of scrimmage at the snap must have his helmet outside the snapper's shoulder pads. Failure to do so results in an illegal formation foul, which carries a five-yard penalty. The purpose of this rule, which came in in 2006, is to protect the snapper on these situations from head-to-head contact.

At the end of Sunday night's game, my friends were claiming Favre's Hail Mary attempt should have been a touchdown because both the defender and receiver "had possession" of the ball. Can you go into the specifics of possession and was the interception correctly called? -- Rob Herbst, Bowling Green, Ky.

Your friend is incorrect. The call on the field of an interception was correctly made. Here is the simultaneous catch rule: If a pass is caught simultaneously by two opposing players who both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. However, it is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and retains control, regardless of subsequent joint control with an opponent. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball. In the play you describe, the offensive player caught the ball in the air but never completed the catch because the defender gained possession and had it when he hit the ground.

Hi Jerry, Last night's (DAL-BUF) very exciting finish raised what I think is an interesting question. The officials reviewed Terrell Owens' catch and correctly ruled it incomplete. My question is, since the spike to stop the clock never happened, wouldn't the officials wind the clock after the review? What if the Cowboys then didn't have enough time to run a play to spike the ball after the review? Thanks. -- Randy Flood, Painfield, Ill.

I am a little confused by your question. If the spike came after the pass was ruled complete, the play could not have been challenged because the challenge must come before the next snap. I did not see the game and if I am mistaken in my description, I apologize. The rule of replay states that if a play is reversed from a running clock to a stopped clock, the time that remained when the pass became incomplete would be put back on the clock, even if time had run out. The clock would start with the snap.

Thanks for responding to my question last week. I also read both questions and answers relating to impetus in your column. In the Giants/Jets game, the Giants defender intercepted the ball and got both feet down at the 1-yard line. His momentum and a push from the receiver turned defender carried him into the end zone. I assumed touchback. After review, the ball was placed at the 1-yard line as the referee explained that there was interception momentum. Did the offense not put the impetus on the ball that carried the interceptor and the ball into the end zone? Why was this not a touchback? Thanks again. Rich. -- Richard Reif, North Caldwell, N.M.

When the ball was intercepted in the field of play, the momentum changed from the offense to the defense because the interceptor physically carried the ball into the end zone. In order to avoid a safety on a spectacular interception, there is an exception to the impetus rule, which is 'intercepting momentum.' This rule states that an intercepting player who gets both feet in the field of play next puts the ball in play at the spot where his second foot hit the ground. If the second foot hits in the end zone, the result is a touchback because the impetus reverts back to the pass.

Jerry, on a play where the RB is lined up in front of the QB in the shotgun formation, and the QB hands the RB the ball (with the RB still in front of him), if the RB proceeds to throw the ball from behind the line of scrimmage is it a legal forward pass? -- Steve, Chicago

A forward-handed ball behind the line of scrimmage with no daylight between players to an eligible pass receiver is not a forward pass. If that handoff is dropped, it is ruled a fumble. The answer to your question is, it is legal for the running back to throw a forward pass.

I was refereeing a football game in a rec league. A pass was thrown into the end zone and caught by a player who was just coming back in-bounds from the back side of the end zone. I ruled incomplete because he was the first player to touch the ball after being out of bounds. Was I right and should have there been a penalty? We try to follow NFL rules. Thanks. --Bob Dooley, Groveland, Mass.

Under NFL rules, illegal touching of a forward pass by a player going out-of-bounds and then returning in-bounds and becoming the first player to touch the ball in-bounds is a foul. This carries a five-yard penalty from the previous line of scrimmage and the down is replayed. However, declining the penalty would result in your ruling -- an incomplete pass. It is important to give the option to the captain and let him decide. He probably would have elected to decline the penalty and take the result of the play.

The offense gets a first down. While the ball is dead there is a unsportsmanlike conduct penalty by the offense. Shouldn't the next down be first and 25? -- John Knapstein, Forest Hill, Md.

All fouls during the dead ball period are considered part of the play with the exception of fouls against an official. Consequently, if after the enforcement of the penalty the first down had still been attained, it would be first-and-ten. If the fifteen-yard penalty left the offensive team short of the first down, the down would be replayed. If it were third and ten and they gained twenty yards, the next down would be third and five after the enforcement of the penalty.

In an earlier column, you said that officials in the field of play were "in play" during a pass. If a passed ball hits, for example, the umpire before an eligible receiver touches the ball, is that a "tipped ball" or not? -- Travis Hestilow, San Antonio, Texas

This is not a tipped pass and the ball continues in play, just as if it had not hit an official. Only eligible receivers can legally catch the pass.


_________________


Make the Niners just barely watchable again!
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
superbowl41
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 620
Age : 28
Localisation : rouen
Date d'inscription : 05/01/2007

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Jeu 25 Oct - 22:03

Double C a écrit:
Citation :
Ask Jerry Markbreit
The fomer NFL referee answers reader questions each week during the season

October 10, 2007, 1:24 PM CDT


Jerry, could you please explain what is and isn't legal when offensive linemen use cut blocks on defensive players? Low blocks seem to be a leading cause of injuries to defensive linemen. Some injuries are inevitable, but having a 300-pounder diving at another player's knees is just asking for injuries. Given all the protections the NFL has written into the rules for quarterbacks and receivers, why haven't they moved to cut back on dangerous interior line play? Thanks for the great column, I look forward to it every week. --Mark Early, Arlington, Va.

The rule regarding low blocks by offensive linemen on defensive players is very clear. The restrictions are as follows: There shall be no clipping from behind below the waist against a non-runner. This does not apply to offensive blocking in close-line play, where it is legal to clip above the knees but illegal to clip at or below the knees. Close-line play is that which occurs in an area extending laterally to the position ordinarily occupied by the offensive tackles and longitudinally three yards on each line of scrimmage. In this close-line play, if an offensive player's block, illegal or legal, is followed by the blocker rolling up on the back of the legs of the defender, this action is illegal and is considered unnecessary roughness. The sole purpose of this rule is to eliminate serious injury in close-line play. I am glad that you enjoy the column.

During the Packer/Bear game on Sunday night, the Packers challenged the placement of the ball which resulted in a change in the placement of the ball. However, the Bears still had the first down. The Packers were then charged a timeout, even though they won the challenge of the placement of the ball. Last night the same situation occurred during the Bills/Cowboy game. However, the Bills didn't lose a timeout. Why did that play out so differently? -- Rhonda Clements, Holmen, Wis.

Under the rules of instant replay, the only forward progress that can be challenged is whether a first down has been made or missed. If, after reviewing the play, it is discovered that the forward progress spot is incorrect but the decision on the field is not changed, the challenge is deemed unsuccessful and the challenger is charged with a timeout. In the Bear/Packer game, even after the ball was moved back because of the replay review, the Bears still had made the necessary line-to-gain for a first down and Green Bay was correctly charged with a timeout. In the Bills/Cowboy game, the situation must have been different if the challenging team was not charged with a timeout.

Jerry, What is the rule about lining up over the center on a field goal attempt? I did not understand that call in the Bears-Packers game. Thanks. -- Dave Farmer, Elk Grove Village, Ill.

During a field goal attempt or an extra point kick, a defensive player who is within one yard of the line of scrimmage at the snap must have his helmet outside the snapper's shoulder pads. Failure to do so results in an illegal formation foul, which carries a five-yard penalty. The purpose of this rule, which came in in 2006, is to protect the snapper on these situations from head-to-head contact.

At the end of Sunday night's game, my friends were claiming Favre's Hail Mary attempt should have been a touchdown because both the defender and receiver "had possession" of the ball. Can you go into the specifics of possession and was the interception correctly called? -- Rob Herbst, Bowling Green, Ky.

Your friend is incorrect. The call on the field of an interception was correctly made. Here is the simultaneous catch rule: If a pass is caught simultaneously by two opposing players who both retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. However, it is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and retains control, regardless of subsequent joint control with an opponent. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball. In the play you describe, the offensive player caught the ball in the air but never completed the catch because the defender gained possession and had it when he hit the ground.

Hi Jerry, Last night's (DAL-BUF) very exciting finish raised what I think is an interesting question. The officials reviewed Terrell Owens' catch and correctly ruled it incomplete. My question is, since the spike to stop the clock never happened, wouldn't the officials wind the clock after the review? What if the Cowboys then didn't have enough time to run a play to spike the ball after the review? Thanks. -- Randy Flood, Painfield, Ill.

I am a little confused by your question. If the spike came after the pass was ruled complete, the play could not have been challenged because the challenge must come before the next snap. I did not see the game and if I am mistaken in my description, I apologize. The rule of replay states that if a play is reversed from a running clock to a stopped clock, the time that remained when the pass became incomplete would be put back on the clock, even if time had run out. The clock would start with the snap.

Thanks for responding to my question last week. I also read both questions and answers relating to impetus in your column. In the Giants/Jets game, the Giants defender intercepted the ball and got both feet down at the 1-yard line. His momentum and a push from the receiver turned defender carried him into the end zone. I assumed touchback. After review, the ball was placed at the 1-yard line as the referee explained that there was interception momentum. Did the offense not put the impetus on the ball that carried the interceptor and the ball into the end zone? Why was this not a touchback? Thanks again. Rich. -- Richard Reif, North Caldwell, N.M.

When the ball was intercepted in the field of play, the momentum changed from the offense to the defense because the interceptor physically carried the ball into the end zone. In order to avoid a safety on a spectacular interception, there is an exception to the impetus rule, which is 'intercepting momentum.' This rule states that an intercepting player who gets both feet in the field of play next puts the ball in play at the spot where his second foot hit the ground. If the second foot hits in the end zone, the result is a touchback because the impetus reverts back to the pass.

Jerry, on a play where the RB is lined up in front of the QB in the shotgun formation, and the QB hands the RB the ball (with the RB still in front of him), if the RB proceeds to throw the ball from behind the line of scrimmage is it a legal forward pass? -- Steve, Chicago

A forward-handed ball behind the line of scrimmage with no daylight between players to an eligible pass receiver is not a forward pass. If that handoff is dropped, it is ruled a fumble. The answer to your question is, it is legal for the running back to throw a forward pass.

I was refereeing a football game in a rec league. A pass was thrown into the end zone and caught by a player who was just coming back in-bounds from the back side of the end zone. I ruled incomplete because he was the first player to touch the ball after being out of bounds. Was I right and should have there been a penalty? We try to follow NFL rules. Thanks. --Bob Dooley, Groveland, Mass.

Under NFL rules, illegal touching of a forward pass by a player going out-of-bounds and then returning in-bounds and becoming the first player to touch the ball in-bounds is a foul. This carries a five-yard penalty from the previous line of scrimmage and the down is replayed. However, declining the penalty would result in your ruling -- an incomplete pass. It is important to give the option to the captain and let him decide. He probably would have elected to decline the penalty and take the result of the play.

The offense gets a first down. While the ball is dead there is a unsportsmanlike conduct penalty by the offense. Shouldn't the next down be first and 25? -- John Knapstein, Forest Hill, Md.

All fouls during the dead ball period are considered part of the play with the exception of fouls against an official. Consequently, if after the enforcement of the penalty the first down had still been attained, it would be first-and-ten. If the fifteen-yard penalty left the offensive team short of the first down, the down would be replayed. If it were third and ten and they gained twenty yards, the next down would be third and five after the enforcement of the penalty.

In an earlier column, you said that officials in the field of play were "in play" during a pass. If a passed ball hits, for example, the umpire before an eligible receiver touches the ball, is that a "tipped ball" or not? -- Travis Hestilow, San Antonio, Texas

This is not a tipped pass and the ball continues in play, just as if it had not hit an official. Only eligible receivers can legally catch the pass.



Vraiment interréssant, mais long a lire, je préfère la séquence official review de NFL.com
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Julius_Holmes#31
League MVP
avatar

Nombre de messages : 845
Date d'inscription : 01/06/2005

MessageSujet: A   Mer 21 Nov - 15:55

J'ai quelquies questions sur les matchs de CFL. En effet, la dernière fois j'en ai vu un, c'était peu avant la fin du deuxième quart-temps, l'équipe était en position pour punter (ils avaient 5/6 points de retard) et ils ont concédés le safety, le punter reçoit la balle et s'en va dans la end-zone en essayant d'esquiver le tacleur comme pour faire dérouler le chrono (il restait quand même plus d'une minute 30 à jouer). Le truc que je saisis pas c'est l'intêret d'avoir concedé les 2 points ??! Pour éviter que le punt atterisse sur la ligne des 50 et être presque en position de coup de pied à 3 points pour les adversaires ? Aucun intéret puisque après le kickoff ils ont avancés suffisament pour marquer un TD je crois...
Et la je viens de zapper sur un match et une équipe a un score de 1 point, comment ça peut se faire ?
Merci
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
OP2310
Pro-Bowler
avatar

Nombre de messages : 1517
Localisation : Saint Germain en Laye
Date d'inscription : 06/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 23 Nov - 17:22

Julius_Holmes#31 a écrit:

Et la je viens de zapper sur un match et une équipe a un score de 1 point, comment ça peut se faire ?
Merci


Facile; une équipe a loupé le TD mais a réussi la transformation donc +1





merde les mecs, soyez indulgents, on est vendredi soir quoi !
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
Sitting Bull
Pro-Bowler
avatar

Nombre de messages : 1397
Age : 33
Date d'inscription : 02/06/2005

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 23 Nov - 17:26

Peut etre qu'ils leur ont accordé un point pour l'encre et le papier... c'est assez fréquent














Putain je craque... Qui dit mieux ??
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
ninerolog
Pro-Bowler
avatar

Nombre de messages : 1236
Localisation : 37.99 - 47.23
Date d'inscription : 14/02/2006

MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   Ven 23 Nov - 19:06


L'équipe a participé à l'eurovision et ils ont obtenu un seul point, de Malte...
next...
Revenir en haut Aller en bas
http://www.sf49ers.com
Contenu sponsorisé




MessageSujet: Re: L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu   

Revenir en haut Aller en bas
 
L'échiquier vert (©Oleo) - Questions sur les règles du jeu
Voir le sujet précédent Voir le sujet suivant Revenir en haut 
Page 6 sur 7Aller à la page : Précédent  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Suivant
 Sujets similaires
-
» Le topic des questions futiles
» Sortie au lac de vert
» Moteur 2K6 ( quelques questions sur boite vitesse)
» rayure sur jante du a lavage avec eponge coté vert
» peinture vert algue

Permission de ce forum:Vous ne pouvez pas répondre aux sujets dans ce forum
NFL et NCAA :: NFL - Rubrique générale-
Sauter vers: